Light Creamy Asparagus Soup

Creamy Spring Asparagus Soup

Food! I have been meaning to get back into posting recipes, but I have been so distracted as of late. I’ve been teaching cooking classes in my home, which has been so fun, but taken a lot of time in preparation etc. I thought today though that it was about time that I shared some of the recipes I have taught recently. One night was an adult night where I shared 4 vegetarian recipes. I didn’t want to just give them something meatless, I wanted them to have a few meals where veggies really get to shine, which should be almost all of our food, but I won’t go there. ūüėČ Some I invented, or my sister invented, this one was a great one that I found on another blog recently. My only advice on this soup is buy great ingredients. When you have a really complex recipe with a lot of different flavors coming from many directions, you can often easily get away with throwing in some stale produce, or using low grade olive oil, but the fewer the ingredient list, the more careful you need to be with what you put in it. So for this that means using a good vegetable stock instead of a boullion cube if possible, the best olive oil you have, and really good cheese for serving. Also the peas you’ve had in your freezer for a couple of generations, should probably go, and I don’t mean in the soup. Get the best asparagus you can find (that doesn’t mean most expensive, just pick it wisely at the super market), and I promise you won’t regret it. The asparagus really gets a chance to shine in this soup! It’s really delightful and not too strong, and tastes very creamy, without any dairy. A couple women seemed hesitant to try it, but mentioned that they ended up loving it and were surprised, so be bold and try new things! ūüėČ

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 leek, cleaned and thinly sliced

1 clove of garlic, chopped

1 1/2 pounds asparagus, woody ends broken off and cut into 1-2 inch pieces

1/2 cup frozen peas

Pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

Kosher salt and black pepper to taste

4 cups low sodium chicken or vegetable broth

1 cup water

1 cup plain non-fat or 2% Greek yogurt (I used cashew cream)

     Shaved or grated Parmesan cheese for topping the soup (I used a strong Romano and it was wonderful as well)

     Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. When the pot is hot add in the leek, garlic, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper and sautè for 3 minutes or until the leek starts to soften. Add in the chopped asparagus and sautè another 3-4 minutes. Add in the frozen peas, pour in the chicken or vegetable broth and water and bring to a boil. When the soup is boiling, cover with a lid, lower the heat to medium-low and simmer for 20 minutes or until the asparagus is very tender. Remove from the heat and use an immersion stick or blender to blend the soup until it is smooth. Stir in the Greek yogurt (or your cashew cream) and season with more salt and pepper to taste. Transfer to serving bowls and top with Parmesan cheese.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

