Cauliflower Mexican Rice

IMG_20160617_112607


 

While we’re sharing cauliflower rice recipes, I thought I’d include the one I used for Mexican Rice. You know that incredibly flavor filled, fluffy rice served in Mexican restaurants, that you always find snuggled up against your black or refried beans, in close proximity to the pool of hot sauce and melted cheese that are oozing off of your enchiladas? Yea, that stuff! I’m a big fan, and beans are out of the question for the next while so I thought why not recreate the rice? While I am not going to pretend it tastes the exact same, this is one that your body and your taste buds can both enjoy, and what’s not to love about that? I originally tried using a recipe on pinterest, but I actually felt like the end result was really bland, so I am going to share with you what I did instead. Lots of great flavor in this dish!

1Head of cauliflower riced (in this instance grated with a box grater on the large holes side)

1 small onion, finely chopped

3T. Minced Garlic

3T. Avocado oil

3T. Tomato paste (paleo compliant)

2T. Chili powder

2T. Smoked paprika

1/2 C. chicken broth

2 tsp. Cumin

4 T. Cilantro, chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste

     Heat your oil in a large skillet and throw in the onions you chopped, followed by our minced garlic. Let it soften and become translucent and then add in your cauliflower and everything else. Just throw it all in, stir well and cook it on medium high heat until the cauliflower is tender but not moosh. I served mine up in tacos with zucchini tortilla shells, guacamole, pico de gallo, lettuce (I used the lettuce as my taco shells, I’m not a fan of the zucchini ones yet), salsa without any sugar and taco seasoned elk meat that I fried up as well. I don’t like buying beef, and much prefer the more humane, organic meat we get from my husband’s hunting, but of course you can always switch it out for beef or chicken.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

